Trinamool Congress dares Modi government to impose presidential rule in West Bengal

Tensions between the Center and the state government have peaked in West Bengal just four months before the Assembly elections. At the party-to-government level, the conflict between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and CM Mamata Banerjee’s team is escalating. The state government has made it clear that it is not acceptable after receiving a letter from the home ministry to send three IPS officers to the Center once again. The TMC has also challenged the central government to impose presidential rule.

“The Centre’s order in this regard is unconstitutional and unacceptable,” senior party leader and Rural Development Minister Subrata Mukherjee told a press conference in Kolkata on Thursday. “We will not send him on deputation. Most likely, the central government will impose presidential rule. We welcome him. If the Center has the power to do so, it can do it,” he said.

Also read: 3 big blows to Mamata in 24 hours, 2 more leaders resign after Shubhendu

Following the December 10 attack on BJP president JP Nadda’s convoy, three West Bengal cadre IPS officers have been sent on deputation by the central government. Rajiv Mishra (ADG, South Bengal) has been sent to ITBP, Praveen Tripathi (DIG, Presidency Range) to Border Security Force and Bholanath Pandey (SP, Diamond Harbor) to the Police Research Bureau.

“It is unconstitutional and will not be accepted,” Mukherjee said. We will not allow center interference. He said the central government was trying to destroy the federal structure of the country by abusing some provisions of the IPS Cadre Rules 1954. It may be mentioned that the central government had once again sent a letter to the West Bengal government that BJP national president J.P. Officials said the Center said these officers have been assigned new responsibilities.

The state government has refused to send the chief secretary and director general of police to Delhi to discuss the law and order situation in West Bengal, hours after three IPS officers – Rajiv Mishra (1996 batch), Praveen Tripathi (2004 batch) and Bholanath Pandey (2011 batch). ) Has been directed to report on central deputation. In a new order, the ministry has ordered the dismissal of Pandey (Superintendent of Police, Diamond Harbor), Tripathi (DIG Presidency Range) and Mishra (ADG South Bengal), citing Indian Police Service (IPS) rules.

The three officials were responsible for his safety during a visit to BJP national president JP Nadda on December 9 and 10. Meanwhile, his fleet was attacked in Diamond Harbor. The order cites amendments by the Union Home Ministry to the Indian Police Service (Cadre) Rules, Rule 6 (1) of 1954 and 1985, stating that in case of any disagreement between the Center and the State Governments, the State Government concerned shall remain at the Center. Will affect the decision.