Stadiums in India are named after politicians, officials, musicians … all but cricketers

While giving up his membership of the Delhi and District Cricket Association and demanding the removal of his name from a booth at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi complained that India does not honor its sports like the rest of the world.

Almost all the great places in the world honor prominent sportsmen in one way or another. In India, however, cricket stadiums are named after all but cricketers and a handful are named after heroes from other sports.


9-number of stadiums named after former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Of them, 8 – New Delhi, Chennai, Kochi, Indore, Guwahati, Margao, Pune and Ghaziabad – have hosted national and international cricket matches.

3– number of arenas named after Indira Gandhi (Guwahati, New Delhi and Vijayawada) and Rajiv Gandhi (Hyderabad, Dehradun and Kochi).

– When India hosted the 2017 U17 World Cup, four of the six venues used were named after the Nehru-Gandhi family: Nehru Stadiums in Kochi, Delhi and Margao, along with Indira Gandhi Stadium in Guwahati, which is one of the three stadiums named after the former Prime Minister.

-A life-size portrait of Rajiv Gandhi with his cricket equipment hangs at the entrance to the stadium named after the former Prime Minister of Hyderabad.

2-number of plots each named after Atal Bihari Vajpayee (Nadaun and Lucknow) and Sardar Patel (Valsad and Ahmedabad).

– New Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium was renamed Arun Jaitley Stadium last year.

-The Kozhikode EMS Stadium, which hosted the 1987 Nehru Cup and hosts the I-League team Gokulam Kerala, is named after the Communist leader and chief prime minister of Kerala, EMS Namboodiripad.

On 3 October 2010, the 19th Commonwealth Games got off to a lively start at the Jawaharlal Nehru stadium in the national capital. (Express file)


4– number of stadiums named after cricket administrators; The MA Chidambaram of Chennai, Chinnaswamy of Bengaluru, IS Bindra of Mohali and Wankhede of Mumbai are named after the former presidents of the cricket board.

Other personalities

-There are stadiums that have links with the British Raj. The iconic Eden Gardens is named after the sisters of the former governor general of India Lord Auckland, Emily and Fanny Eden. Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium, meanwhile, is named after the then governor of Bombay, Lord Brabourne.

2– number of places named after masters of music: Dr Bhupen Hazarika Cricket Stadium in Guwahati and the Thyagaraj multipurpose stadium in Delhi, dedicated to the carnatic composer Tyagaraja.

1Stadium number named after an executive: Jamshedpur’s Keenan Stadium, named after former Tata Steel CEO John Lawrence Keenan.


0-number of cricket stadiums named after a cricketer.

-There are, however, two cricket pitches that honor hockey legends: Lucknow’s KD Singh ‘Babu’ Stadium and Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior, the place where Sachin Tendulkar became the first cricketer to to mark a double century in ODIs.

2-number of hockey stadiums named after Major Dhyan Chand, in New Delhi and Lucknow.

1-number of the football stadium named after a footballer, Bhaichung Stadium in Namchi, Sikkim.