Gill, Siraj makes his test debut as KL Rahul returns to the bench; Australia will play with the same team in the Boxing Day Test

India vs Australia 2nd test playing XI – India made 4 changes to the game XI they played in Adelaide as they finalized their team for the 2nd test starting Melbourne on Saturday. On the other hand, Australia will enter the Melbourne Test with an unchanged squad.

Indian team playing XI for the 2nd test: India makes 4 changes in the squad

Indian Playing XI announced for 2nd test. Shubman Gill and Rishabh Pant were included in the Indian Game XI for the Boxing day Test. At the same time, Prithvi Shaw and Wridhimman Saha showed the door, as previously reported by InsideSport.

Also Read: India vs Australia: Sydney Test Match May Be Stopped Due To COVID Outbreak, Cricket Australia Calls For Match

Another change in Game XI was the inclusion of Ravindra Jadeja. The Indian handyman is now in shape and has replaced Virat Kohli while India has decided to strengthen their bowling department. Also, Mohammed Siraj replaced Mohammed Shami.

Team India XI: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin and Mohd. Siraj

Here are the changes that Team India intends to make for the Boxing Day Test:

Ravindra Jadeja replaces Virat Kohli: With Kohli unavailable for the remainder of the tour as she is returning to India for the birth of her first child, Jadeja has replaced the Indian skipper for the Melbourne Test.

Read also: Big Blow for India, Mohammed Shami ruled out the whole series of tests against Australia with fracture

Shubman Gill replaces Prithvi Shaw: Opener Prithvi Shaw was a big disappointment for Team India as he recorded scores of 0 and 4 in the two innings of the first Test. Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc brutally exposed Shaw’s imperfect technique, sending the ball to send the its abutments slamming through the large gap between the club and the pad. As expected, Shaw faced an ax in favor of Shubman Gill, who garnered a lot of praise and attention for his composure in the fold and decent performance in the 2020 IPL where he amassed 440 runs.

Additionally, Gill, who opened in the second warm-up match against Australia A with Shaw, recorded significant scores of 43 and 65 in the first and second inning, respectively. Gill also has an outstanding first-class record in support of his reputation and plays as a trailblazer for his state side of Punjab.

Interestingly, Gill will make his test debut in Melbourne.

Rishabh Pant replaces Wriddhiman Saha: It’s been over three years since Wriddhiman Saha scored a fifty or a ton in Test cricket. He has been flawless with his skills behind wickets, but has yet to leave a bat impact on the larger stages.
Saha’s bad run continued in the pink ball test against Australia, where India suffered their worst batting slump, recording the lowest team total ever in tests. He managed to score 9 and 4 in both innings respectively. Then, Saha is replaced by Rishabh Pant, who played a sparkling shot in the second day-night warm-up against Australia A. The 23-year-old hit a whopping 103 run offs in 77 deliveries.

Also Read: Ind vs Aus: Australian IPL 2020 India stump flop while playing for their national team

Additionally, on their last tour of Australia, Kohli-led India had made history by winning their first series of Australian soil tests 2-1 in 2018-19. Rishabh Pant had rehearsed the role of the wicketkeeper for the entire tour and had played a vital role with both the bat and the gloves in his team’s victory.

The southpaw had hammered 350 runs in four games at an average of 58.33 and had taken up to 20 catches. He had also launched an assault on Australian bowlers in the Sydney Test by recording his highest score of 159 * with just 189 deliveries.

Mohammed Siraj replaces Mohammed Shami: India pacer Shami is already out of the Border-Gavaskar series with a fractured arm.

And he was replaced by Mohammed Siraj. The Hyderabad pacer put on an impressive sight in the two games on the tour and was also lethal in the 2020 IPL, where he became the first bowler in IPL history to pitch two maiden overs finishing with 4- 2-8-3 against KKR while playing for RCB.

Like Gill, Siraj will also make his test debut in Melbourne.

Australia to participate in the Melbourne Test without any changes to their XI

David Warner is banned from the MCG test, which means Australia is unlikely to make any changes to the game’s XI on Boxing Day. Coach Justin Langer also hinted on Thursday that Australia will not make any changes in the XI which defeated India in Adelaide.

Vodafone Test Series v India 2020-21 – Likely team for both teams for 2nd Test Match

Australia playing XI: Tim Paine (c), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade

India Playing XI: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin and Mohd. Siraj