Agarkar, Mongia and Kuruvilla in the fray as the process begins to fill vacancies for India’s recruiters


There are three seats to fill on the five-man committee that currently includes Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh

The BCCI cricket advisory board – led by former India fast bowlers Madan Lal and RP Singh and former female cricketer Sulakshana Naik – began the process to appoint three new selectors for the male jury on Thursday. Among those shortlisted for the position are former Indian players Ajit Agarkar, Chetan Sharma, Maninder Singh, Nayan Mongia and SS Das.

According to Hindustan Times, others that have been selected include Abey Kuruvilla, Vijay Dahiya, Ajay Ratra, Nikhil Chopra, Debashish Mohanty and Ranadeb Bose. The selected candidates, who had applied at the end of November, were informed Wednesday evening that the interviews would be conducted virtually. it is understood that the CAC will define its choices by the end of the day and will share them with the BCCI. Once the renewed selection committee has been decided, the group’s first task would be to select the teams for the home series against England which includes four rounds, 5 T20s and three ODI, starting February 5 next year.

The BCCI had invited applications to fill the three remaining vacancies after the terms of Jatin Paranjape, Devang Gandhi and Sarandeep Singh ended in September. The men’s selection committee currently consists of only two members: former Indian spinner Sunil Joshi, who is the president, and Harvinder Singh, the former fast thrower of India and Railways. Those two were named after MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda’s terms ended in February following the India tour of New Zealand.

The BCCI had established a minimum qualification of seven rounds or 30 first class matches or 10 ODI and 20 first class matches for applicants. They should also have retired “at least five years ago”. The council also indicated 60 as the age limit for applicants.